Red Raspberry Velvet Cake

4 Aug

 So every now and then I get the chance to choose a recipe out of my cook book that my mother gave me for Christmas and try out something new. My obsession with sweets and everything baking has been instilled in me by my mom. I picked out a surprisingly simple recipe for Red Raspberry Velvet Cake , two layers with red raspberry jam in the center, with home made cream cheese and powdered sugar icing. Salivating yet?

After making my cake, I got a wise tip from an experienced baker: use one less egg than what the recipe calls for if you’re in the south because gravitational pull is different from the North, where you would use more eggs. I thought it was completely absurd until I tasted one of her cakes.

P.S. The contrasting colors of the cake come out so beautiful, it serves as a nice kitchen decor piece when placed on a cake plate.

3 Responses to “Red Raspberry Velvet Cake”

  1. andresbrizuela August 4, 2011 at 12:08 PM #

    yummmmmm

  2. Alex August 4, 2011 at 6:47 PM #

    If you have any recipes, leave them in a comment. I’d love to read through them 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. With a Strawberry on Top « Mauve & Moody - April 6, 2012

    […]  My roommate was always able to tell when I was stressed out because there would be a delicious double layer red velvet  or pineapple upside down cake sitting on our kitchen counter. After a long hectic week, I found […]

Leave a Reply

