Hair Bows. Cute? Or not?

29 Aug


At work yesterday, I was approached by a brazilian couple who needed help redecorating their home. They had the cutest little girl with them, about the age of six. She had a big hair bow in her hand and she kept trying to tell me something in portuguese but I couldn’t understand. Her father asked me if hair bows were in style here in America. I assured them that in fact, in the Gainesville area, they are [mostly among sorority girls for some reason]. As he laughed he informed me that in Brazil, it’s considered too old fashioned and that girls never wear them. So it made me wonder why girls well in their early 20s wear childish looking hair bows. Do they intend to look like cute toddlers? Or are they trying to relive their childhood? I’m intrigued.

I must say there are a few instances in which it does work. One example being the great Marc Jacobs Spring Summer  2010 collection which featured colorful neon outfits paired with large hair bows. I happen to think Hannah Holman rocked that bow in the MJ ad.

4 Responses to “Hair Bows. Cute? Or not?”

  1. Sara Campbell August 31, 2011 at 10:32 AM #

    I’d like to counter your question with another question: Who decided bows are just for little girls?
    xo,
    Sara Campbell Blog

  2. Alex August 31, 2011 at 10:44 AM #

    Touché. Nobody decided they were for little girls, I just believe that’s traditionally and typically how they’re used. But like my blog states, not everyone has that viewpoint hence the popularity of it among young women.
    but you’re absolutely right

  3. Josie August 31, 2011 at 1:10 PM #

    I don’t mind a pretty ribbon in the hair, but I don’t know how I feel about the big bow… I couldn’t pull it off for sure!
    xo Josie
    http://www.winksmilestyle.com

  4. Anonymous September 9, 2011 at 9:53 PM #

    I beleive that anyone can wear them. However, the older you get the smaller they should be.

Leave a Reply

