Foods for Clear Skin

6 Sep

For the past 10 years, I’ve struggled with bad skin. I’ve experimented with different foods and behaviors to see how it affects my skin. I discovered that sweets and starches cause breakouts, and green foods and as well as fruits keep my skin clear. However, once a month I am more prone to breakouts so I try to make changes to my routine and diet to ensure my skin stays clear. This Cosmopolitan article  gives great tips on what adjustments you can make in your diet for better skin.  I’ve heard a lot of these over and over again, but thing is, it actually works. The most important thing is to find what works for you.

 1. Avoid white foods, as hard as it is. Simple carbs, like potatoes and breads are friends of the stomach, enemies of the skin. As terrible as it is, I LOVE Five Guys Burgers & Fries but it takes a toll on my skin. When you’re more prone to breakouts, limit the intake of these foods or substitute for whole grain whenever possible.


2. Plenty of fish in the sea, so don’t be afraid to try new ones. Salmon in particular has a lot of the essential fatty acids and reduce inflammation which “triggers the cell to clog the pore, causing acne” according to the dermotalogist in the article. I found this recipe for salmon to be really simple.


3. Ooze on the olive oil. Believe it or not, consuming fat is good for you (in moderate amounts of course). If you have less than the suggested amount of fat a day (about 2 tablespoons of oil) your skin might not absorb vitamin A, which helps prevent premature aging. I use a little olive oil when I grill chicken breasts and its delish.

4. Tea for the t-zone. Not mentioned in the article but works magic on the skin is white tea. You may have read one of my previous posts on tea here, where I broke down the different types. White tea is as pure as they come, and it’s a great source of antioxidants. Teavana has a great selection of teas, from which I suggest the youthberry white tea.

3 Responses to “Foods for Clear Skin”

  1. andresbrizuela September 7, 2011 at 10:56 AM #

    best post!

  2. Alex September 7, 2011 at 10:58 AM #

    Why thank you sir

  3. andresbrizuela September 9, 2011 at 9:13 AM #

    I just wanted to say I think your the bestest blogger ever

Leave a Reply

