Beauty Lesson From a Chihuahua

10 Jan

I’m so excited to share with you the newest joy that has been brought into my life. Two days ago, my family and I adopted a six month old chihuahua from Friends Forever. It’s actually a funny story. My sister was doing her volunteer hours at a pet store though her school’s vet program.  My mom had to drop by to sign some paperwork for my sister. That’s when she saw the chihuahua and it was love at first sight. I think it’s safe to say that was the case for all of us. Funny, no one woke up that morning expecting to take a dog home.

Her name was Ella and she was found inside a hoarder’s house with 23 other dogs in dirty, unlivable conditions. She was completely bald, probably due to mange, and was sadly malnourished. I’m so glad we decided to adopt Ella and give her the love and care she deserves. { Her new name is undecided }

If you really look at her I doubt she’s what you would call a beautiful dog, but I think she’s so ugly, it’s adorable. Even though she’s semi-bald, that’s what makes her lovable. The whole situation got me thinking about beauty and perfection. I think she’s so freakin cute because she isn’t perfect. But it seems like we are always expected to strive for physical perfection, especially women (we’re not all like Adriana Lima, sheesh!). But I’ve come to realize there is nothing wrong with imperfection,  it’s way more interesting! So adopting poor little Ella has taught me a valuable lesson I was too stubborn to accept before. We shouldn’t work towards being perfect. Instead be the best version of you that you can be. That’s what will make you stand out, not pretending to be something you’re not. Be comfortable in your own skin, even if it is hairless, like Ella’s.

{ On another note, I need some help with names. My family is split 50/50 two names. The boys want Twiggy and the girls want Lily. What do you think? Or do you have any other suggestions that may break the tie?? }

4 Responses to “Beauty Lesson From a Chihuahua”

  1. France January 10, 2012 at 5:00 PM #

    How about Minnie, Lola, Luna, Pixie, Rubie, or Zoey.

  2. Anonymous January 10, 2012 at 5:39 PM #

    I like Ella

  3. Anonymous January 10, 2012 at 6:06 PM #

    LILY would be a cool name

  4. Alex January 11, 2012 at 11:14 AM #

    I love Zoey! Thats so adorable! There are so many good ones. I might have to pick one out of a hat! lol

Leave a Reply

